Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren #bookreview

Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate – the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars – ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

Book Review by Tanya Kaanta for Love Books Group

Christina Lauren’s newest novel is a story of second chances, taking place when our couple is young, and then fourteen years later. It starts off as a typical new adult romance, where our heroine, Tate Jones, is eighteen and vacationing with her grandmother in London. There she meets Sam Brandis, twenty-one and a college student, also on vacation with his grandfather. As soon as they meet, the sparks fly. And the more they get to know each other, the more they realize this isn’t just a fling. What they feel for each other, although fresh and new, is right. It’s everything. 

Until Tate reveals her secret, that she’s the long-lost daughter of one of Hollywood’s biggest stars. And right after her confession of her identity and love for him, Sam vanishes and leaves behind the biggest heartache for Tate. He betrays her.

Fast forward fourteen years later, Tate is an actress in her own right. She refuses to give Sam any more thought, though she can’t help but think about him every once “in a blue moon.” As luck or fate would have it, her next movie finds her face to face with the man who broke her heart. 

Part two of the story centers around Tate and Sam as they reconcile their past and move forward. Though that pesky chemistry is ever so present. And despite Tate needing to officially move on, it’s impossible when Sam is always on set. And once she learns his side of the story, her bitterness and anger must subside, because his story is compelling, complicated, and in a sense, beautiful – even though it meant he had to hurt Tate. 

As always, the sparks fly, the story flows, and the characters create magic. Or rather the authors create magic. This latest installment reveals a more subtle and mature style of writing without taking away from the chemistry and heart palpitations I feel whenever I’m engrossed in one of their stories. I’m a fan always and forever. 

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.