A Body in the Lakes by Graham Smith @bookouture @GrahamSmith1972 @lovebooksgroup

2 comments
A Body in the Lakes by Graham Smith

The woman’s limbs were so thin; the skin on her arms as translucent as tracing paper. Around her neck lay a faint string of purple bruises. In one so frail, darker, angrier marks might be expected but Beth knew the bruising would have stopped the moment her heart stopped beating.

When a hiker finds the body of a woman by the shores of Lake Ullswater, the police are put on high alert. Felicia Evans was known to be a tough character, but who would have strangled her?

Detective Beth Young quickly spots the links to three cold cases. Three women strangled and discarded in the stunning, wild hills of the Lake District.

As Beth begins tracking down witnesses, the team receives an anonymous letter claiming the charming mayor of Carlisle is behind the murders. There’s pressure from the top to clear his name. But Beth is determined to find the truth no matter whose feathers she ruffles in the process.

Beth knows the clock is ticking. The killer is hunting again. And it’s down toher to find who’s responsible before another woman becomes his prey…

A gripping edge-of-your-seat thriller from bestselling author Graham Smith, perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and J.R. Ellis.

Author Bio

Graham Smith is a time served joiner who has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since Christmas 2000, he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

He is an internationally best-selling Kindle author and has six books featuring DI Harry Evans and the Cumbrian Major Crimes Team, and four novels, featuring Utah doorman, Jake Boulder. His ‘Lakes’ series which has three novels featuring DC Beth Young has received much critical acclaim.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer and interviewer for the well-respected website Crimesquad.com since 2009

Graham is the founder of Crime and Publishment, a weekend of crime-writing classes which includes the chance for attendees to pitch their novels to agents and publishers. Since the first weekend in 2013, ten attendees have gone on to sign publishing contracts.

Inspired By 

Can you tell us about someone who inspired your writing in some way? What it means to you now and if you could say anything to them what would it be?

I’ve been extremely fortunate to have the friendship and guidance of two of my favourite authors. Both Matt Hilton and Craig Russell have cajoled me, offered blurbs and spent many hours discussing writing, stories and many other aspects of the publishing industry with me. Because I’ve been friends with them both for a number of years, I’ve been able to let them know how invaluable their help has been.

What words of advice would you offer anyone starting their writing career? 

I would suggest that before they even started writing, they should read five book in the genre or sub-genre that that planned to write in and then once they’d finished each book, they had to write a five hundred word review of the book. The review could be critical or praising, that doesn’t matter, as the very fact you know you have to write a review makes you read in a way that makes you more insight into the book’s elements such as pace, plotting, character and setting. 

What does being a writer mean to you?

It means the world to me as it’s something I never thought I’d be able to do. I’ve always been a reader, and as such, I thought of writers as these mythical creatures who lived anguish filled lives that drove them to toil over typewriters for the entertainment of readers. Now that I’m one of the mythical creatures, I know the reality is vastly different as I twice failed my English exams. All in all, having been a reader for forty years, to be able to be the source of entertainment for other readers is a truly special thing that humbling and exhilarating in equal measure.

Finally, do you have a favourite bookish quote?

There are so many bookish or writerly quotes I could choose here but I am going to pull a line from a book which has stuck with me for many years. It’s from one of Stuart MacBride’s novels featuring Logan McRae and Roberta Steel. The line is a description of a minor character and in just eight words tells you everything you need to know about the individual.

It goes, ‘He’s a baldy wee fu*k of a man.’ I love it for its brevity and the way it encapsulates the character without half a page of flowery verbiage.

You can purchase a copy in my bookstore.

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).


2 comments on “A Body in the Lakes by Graham Smith @bookouture @GrahamSmith1972 @lovebooksgroup”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.