Only Daughter by Sarah A. Denzil @sarahdenzil @bookouture #InspiredBy

One comment

Welcome

Today I have an interview feature with Sarah A. Denzil. Only Daughter is out now in all the usual formats.

Only Daughter by Sarah A. Denzil

The must-read psychological thriller for 2019 from the million-copy-bestselling author of Silent Child.

In one moment, Kat Cavanaugh’s perfect world is shattered into tiny fragments. The flash of her daughter’s torn yellow dress, the beautiful blonde hair hanging across her precious face. Her own heart-broken sob…

Kat experiences every mother’s worst nightmare when her little girl is found dead. And then the police add the word ‘suicide’. But Kat refuses to believe them.

Even when they show her the familiar looping handwriting and smudged ink on the note Grace left behind. She knows her bubbly, bright daughter would never take her own life.

But as she searches Grace’s perfume-scented room, filled with smiling photos, she uncovers secrets her daughter had been hiding. Secrets that make her wonder how well she really knew the woman her only child was becoming.

Kat’s determined to find out what really happened to Grace on the night she died, even if it means confronting her own troubled past. But as she gets closer to the terrible truth, Kat is faced with an unthinkable question: there was no way she could have protected Grace – or was there?

This addictive and emotional psychological thriller will keep you gripped into the dark hours. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and The Girl on the Train.

Sarah A. Denzil

Sarah A. Denzil is a British suspense writer from Derbyshire. In her alternative life–AKA Sarah Dalton–she writes speculative fiction for teenagers, including The Blemished, Mary Hades and White Hart.

Sarah lives in Yorkshire with her partner, enjoying the scenic countryside and rather unpredictable weather.

Saving April, Sarah’s debut suspense thriller, is a psychological look into the minds of the people around us who we rarely even consider – our neighbours. What do we really know about them, and what goes on when the doors are closed?

Inspired Feature

Can you tell us about someone who inspired your writing in some way? What it means to you now and if you could say anything to them what would it be?

There are so many authors who have inspired me along the way, but there are a couple that stick in my mind for helping to nudge me in the direction I ultimately took. Because I started out by writing young adult books, I remember reading the Hunger Games and how it helped me come up with my own idea for my very first novel. Reading Gone Girl was the first time I realised that I could write psychological books without a detective and a serial killer, and led me onto the path of writing psychological thrillers. Iain Banks’s dark suspense has helped me establish a certain tone to my writing.

I have no idea what I’d say! Thank you. You’re all amazing!

What words of advice would you offer anyone starting their writing career?

Read! Ideas for our own stories almost always come from other people’s stories. One day you’ll be reading a book and you’ll be thinking ‘I want to write this’ and while you can’t actually write that story, obviously, your brain starts working, picking out a tiny part of that story, twisting it into something original, and something that’s yours. If you read enough, you can take little parts from all the stories you’ve read before, making your own story more original. Reading helps you figure out the formulas for fiction, and helps you learn to break the rules when necessary. And don’t forget that movies and TV shows are stories, too! Watching movies, watching TV is almost as good as reading a book.

What does being a writer mean to you?

It’s been a lifeline really. It pulled me out of my very normal, very humdrum and not very creative job in an office and allowed me to make a living doing something that makes me happy.

Finally, do you have a favourite bookish quote.

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads lives only one.”

GRRM

Buy Link

https://amzn.to/2YNptCU

Thank you to Sarah A. Denzil for stopping by today. I hope you are having a great reading week.

All the best,

Kelly

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).


1 comments on “Only Daughter by Sarah A. Denzil @sarahdenzil @bookouture #InspiredBy”

  1. I want to read this book, I have added it to my TBR. I loved the quote Sarah chose, it is perfect, especially with the world in various stages of quarentine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.