Locked in Fear by Liz Cowley, Donough O’Brien @urbanebooks #Lovebookstours #Interview

2 comments

Welcome

Today we are taking part in the Love Books Tour for Locked in Fear by Liz Cowley and Donough O’Brien.

Locked in Fear by Liz Cowley, Donough O’Brien

“The authors write with verve and page-turning excitement.” The Reverend Jonathan Aitken, Prison Chaplin

The stunning new thriller from the authors of Serial Damage. In a sleepy country village, Detective Inspector Robin Marshal – now in retirement – is nearly killed by a stranger. His friend Alice, a police psychiatrist, discovers that the murder attempt was almost certainly ordered by a terrifying criminal, ‘Big Mack’, currently incarcerated in a notoriously violent prison. There his criminal kingdom controls not only the inmates, but many of the guards, through the power of money and the threat of extreme violence.

When Alice goes to work in the prison to find out more, she too, becomes a target, her car machine-gunned on a country road, and Robin is attacked again while recovering in Spain.

Under pressure from an outraged public and with political concern rising, the authorities try to put a stop to Big Mack’s activities. But everyone is under threat when he is suddenly at large following a murderous escape. How can this evil kingpin be stopped?

Locked in Fear is a gripping thriller perfect for fans of JD Kirk, Rob Ashman and Joy Ellis.

Interview Feature

Liz Cowley

Liz Cowley had a long career as an advertising copywriter and Creative Director, working in several of the world’s leading agencies. A long-time fan of poetry, she enjoyed success with her first collection, A Red Dress, published in 2008 and her second, What am I Doing Here? (2010), which were then made into a theatrical show – first staged in Dublin, then as the finale of the West Cork Literary Festival and later touring the UK. ‘And guess who he was with?’ was followed by two popular poetry books for gardeners, Outside in my Dressing Gown, and Gardening in Slippers. A further humorous poetry book, Pass the Prosecco, Darling, all about cooking disasters and other kitchen dramas,was her next collection. She has since co-written a war novel, From One Hell to Another, with her husband Donough, as well as a third gardening poetry book, Green Fingers.

Can you tell us a little about your publishing journey, please?

I started writing poems and stories as a very young child, and was hugely encouraged when my true story about rescuing a bulldog from a Suffolk bog was published in the local paper. My wonderful English teacher at Southampton Tech suggested that I should become an advertising copywriter which I did ,at 18, working for several big London agencies over the decades, until I decided to try my luck writing poetry and novels at home, and sieve through all the stuff I’d written over the years.

             My first book, A Red Dress, with a Foreword by Joanna Lumley, was published in 2008, and became a stage show in London and Dublin and the Finale of the West Cork Literary Festival.

                I then wrote several more poetry books relating to women’s lives, and also gardening and cooking, and collaborated with my husband on three more books,  Serial Damage (crime), Testosterone (sci-fi) and From one hell to another. Our latest novel Locked in Fear, is a sequel to Serial Damage.

How do you decide who to dedicate your books too?

Those who have been honest critics.

What was the inspiration behind your latest release?

The alarming situation in modern prisons.

Do you find it hard to let your characters go when you finish writing the book?

No

What was your favourite read of 2019?

The Hidden Life of Trees by Peter Wohlleben

The Hidden Life of Trees by Peter Wohlleben | Waterstones

Who is your favourite author?

Ruth Rendell, (for crime).

Is there anyone that you would like to mention and thank for their support of your writing? 

Above all, my husband and co-writer Donough O’Brien.

If you had the power to give everyone in the world one book, what would it be and why?

No. But Flora Britannica by Richard Mabey for English readers

What are you working on now?

PLANTS AND US

 How they shaped human history and society

( working with Donough and prominent botanist John Akeroyd)

Lastly, do you have any questions for your readers?

How often do you buy a book?

Interview with Donough O’Brien

Before turning to writing, Donough O’Brien enjoyed a successful marketing career in the US and Europe. His previous books include Fame by Chance, looking at places that became famous by a twist of fate; Banana Skins, covering the slips and screw-ups that brought the famous down to earth; Numeroids, a book of numerical nuggets, and In the Heat of Battle; a study of those who rose to the occasion in warfare and those who didn’t. His latest historical book was WHO? The most remarkable people you’ve never heard of. Donough also co-authored the thriller Peace Breaks Out with the late Robin Hardy, as well as From One Hell to Another, with his wife Liz Cowley, about the role of the Spanish in the French Resistance. Also co-written with Liz is Testosterone, a science fiction novel.

Can you tell us a little about your publishing journey, please?

  1. After a long career in marketing, I decided to write a biography of my father Toby O’Brien (a pioneer of public relations, in charge of wartime propaganda and PR Director of the Tory party) and autobiography of myself. Called Fringe benefits, it reflected the many famous people on the fringes of whom we had both lived and worked. I then decided to write full time with illustrated history books like Fame by Chance, Banana Skins, In the heat of battle and WHO? the most remarkable people you’ve never heard of.

Recently my wife Liz and I turned to writing novels together, Serial Damage (crime) Testosterone (sci-fi) and From one hell to another (Warfare).  Locked in Fear is the sequel to Serial Damage.

How do you decide who to dedicate your books too?

We dedicate our books to the experts who have filled in the details.

What was the inspiration behind your latest release?

We read Jeffrey Archer’s book and also my friend Jonathan Aitken’s   about suddenly going to prison, and we thought about criminals who could actually commit crimes from prison.

Do you find it hard to let your characters go when you finish writing the book?

We read Jeffrey Archer’s book and also my friend Jonathan Aitken’s   about suddenly going to prison, and we thought about criminals who could actually commit crimes from prison.

What was your favourite read of 2019?

The Vietnam War by Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burn

Stock photo

Who is your favourite author?

Ken Burns. His books are nearly as good as his documentaries.

If you had the power to give everyone in the world one book, what would it be and why?

Jonathan Aitken. Politician, prisoner and now Prison Chaplain.

What are you working on now?

PLANTS AND US

  How they shaped human history and society

(working with Liz and the prominent botanist Dr John Akeroyd.)

Lastly, do you have any questions for your readers?

PLANTS AND US

  How they shaped human history and society

(working with Liz and the prominent botanist Dr John Akeroyd.)

Buy Link

https://urbanepublications.com/books/locked-in-fear/

Follow the Tour

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).


2 comments on “Locked in Fear by Liz Cowley, Donough O’Brien @urbanebooks #Lovebookstours #Interview”

  1. Hi Kelly,

    How are you? I do hope you’re safe and well, and that the lockdown situation is not getting you down too much.

    Sorry to write a personal message like this on your blog, but I texted you the other day to see how you were, and am wondering if I may have got your number wrong.

    Take care,

    Graham 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.