Through the Wall by Caroline Corcoran @cgcorcoran @AvonBooksUK #BookReview

Through the Wall by Caroline Corcoran

Back of the Book

Lexie’s got the perfect life. And someone else wants it…

Lexie loves her home. She feels safe and secure in it – and loved, thanks to her boyfriend Tom.

But recently, something’s not been quite right. A book out of place. A wardrobe door left open. A set of keys going missing…

Tom thinks Lexie’s going mad – but then, he’s away more often than he’s at home nowadays, so he wouldn’t understand.

Because Lexie isn’t losing it. She knows there’s someone out there watching her. And, deep down, she knows there’s nothing she can do to make them stop…

A compelling, heart-racing thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder long after you turn the last page. The perfect read for fans of Louise Candlish and Adele Parks.

Book Review by Kelly Lacey

Through the Wall is a very interesting read albeit a slow burner. This is not a fast-paced thriller, it is deliberately slow. So if you enjoy a layered read that slowly builds up with the tension increasing as you go. Then you will enjoy it tremendously.

It is told through the perspectives of Lexie and Harriet who are neighbours. With alternating chapters, giving you a glimpse into each life. Lexie’s life is her wish to have a baby. It’s fueled by determination and the outcome all that pressure puts onto a relationship. Harriet from the outside looks like she has everything a girl could want. But does she and what secrets does she have?

The core of this book is mental illness in its many forms. Two women with different issues but who both desperately need help. Ms Corcoran convincingly shows mental health issues in their rawest form. It makes at time for a difficult read but an important one. A lot of time and thought has gone into each character’s plot in the book.

I actually felt for both of them and it really brought to mind how we live in a society that doesn’t engage in real life. If you say ‘good morning’ to someone you can see their body freeze with shock. As if you had said ‘Give me all your money”. It is sad and I hope it changes back to eye contact and verbal engagement.

Lexie’s struggle to have a baby was incredibly difficult to read and I could relate with her on her journey. Perhaps if I had known this was a heavy topic in the book I would have sidestepped it but I am glad I didn’t. I found it somewhat therapeutic to have some of my own feelings validated through Lexie. Some readers may find Lexie a little too much and the fertility storyline repetitive.

If you are a fan of stories that build slowly with purpose and a genius plot then Through the Wall is for you.

Three stars.

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).


One thought on “Through the Wall by Caroline Corcoran @cgcorcoran @AvonBooksUK #BookReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.