Someone to Honor by Mary Balogh #LoveBooks @penguinrandom

Someone to Honor by Mary Balogh

First appearances deceive in the newest charming and heartwarming Regency romance in the Westcott series from beloved New York Times bestselling author Mary Balogh.

Abigail Westcott’s dreams for her future were lost when her father died and she discovered her parents were not legally married. But now, six years later, she enjoys the independence a life without expectation provides a wealthy single woman. Indeed, she’s grown confident enough to scold the careless servant chopping wood outside without his shirt on in the proximity of ladies.

But the man is not a servant. He is Gilbert Bennington, the lieutenant colonel and superior officer who has escorted her wounded brother, Harry, home from the wars with Napoleon. Gil has come to help his friend and junior officer recover, and he doesn’t take lightly to being condescended to–secretly because of his own humble beginnings.

If at first Gil and Abigail seem to embody what the other most despises, each will soon discover how wrong first impressions can be. For behind the appearances of the once-grand lady and the once-humble man are two people who share an understanding of what true honor means, and how only with it can one find love.

Review by Tanya Kannta for Love Books Group

The sixth installment in the Westcott series, Someone to Honor does not disappoint. To be honest, it’s one of my favorite stories of this series. Why? Because Ms. Balogh has created characters I grow to love. Characters that are flawed yet human. Characters that blossom from the beginning to the end of the story. And always, at the beginning, I wonder how Ms. Balogh is going to pull off the story because her two leads always seem to have a major chasm to cross before they can have their HEA. Yet I’m always satisfied in the end, falling in love with the couple as they fall in love with each other.

Someone to Love features Abigail Westcott, former lady and daughter of an Earl, turned bastard child, after she learns her father was not legally married to her mother when Abigail was born. Six years after that discovery, she is in her twenties and not looking to marry, though she is happy with her independence.

Gilbert Bennington knows all too well what it’s like to be the illegitimate child. Born of very humble beginnings, he joins the military and ends up working his way up to a lieutenant colonel. A dear friend to Abigail’s wounded brother, Harry, Gil escorts Harry from France to his home in England.

Abigail and Gil are not the result of love at first sight. In fact, Abigail mistakes Gil for the help, and he does not deny it. But as they are forced to spend time together, they realize they have much more in common than originally believed. And Abigail is a heroine to admire. She’s her own individual, not prone to the demands of society. And she is loyal to a man who is quite deserving. One who is himself honorable and fighting for someone he loves. Like all romances, there’s a conflict to overcome. And we are gifted with cameos from the illustrious Westcott family. Always fun, and yes, it’s worth it to read the series, though you don’t have to start at book 1.

If you’re looking for a love story in the vein of Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen, yet with a little more zing in the bedroom (though not too gratuitous), then Someone to Love (Book 6 of the Westcott Series) by Mary Balogh is the book for you. I highly recommend Mary Balogh’s books to all those who love a good historical romance with a touch of steam. And if you’ve exhausted all the books in this series to date, pick any of her other many series. They are all fabulous.

Amazon Link

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.