Which do you prefer? #BookCovers – Dear Mrs Bird by AJ Pearce ##WomensFiction #Books #Scribner #Picador #BookTalk #UKCover #USACover

Today’s choices are for Dear Mrs Bird by AJ Pearce . We have three covers for you to choose from today. I would love to know in the comments below which you prefer. If you want to say why that would be SUPER.

The UK Hardcover

The USA Hardcover

The USA paperback

Back of the book – USA Style

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls

Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are doing their bit for the war effort and trying to stay cheerful, despite the German planes making their nightly raids. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent, and when she spots a job advertisement in the newspaper she seizes her chance; but after a rather unfortunate misunderstanding, she finds herself typing letters for the formidable Henrietta Bird, renowned advice columnist of Woman’s Friend magazine.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight into the bin. But as Emmy reads the desperate pleas from women who many have Gone Too Far with the wrong man, or can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

Back of the book – UK Style

The Richard & Judy Book Club Pick and Sunday Times Bestseller

‘The sweetest, most uplifting, lovely book about courage, friendship, love’ Marian Keyes

London, 1941. Amid the falling bombs Emmeline Lake dreams of becoming a fearless Lady War Correspondent. Unfortunately, Emmy instead finds herself employed as a typist for the formidable Henrietta Bird, the renowned agony aunt at Woman’s Friend magazine. Mrs Bird refuses to read, let alone answer, letters containing any form of Unpleasantness, and definitely not those from the lovelorn, grief-stricken or morally conflicted.

But the thought of these desperate women waiting for an answer at this most desperate of times becomes impossible for Emmy to ignore. She decides she simply must help and secretly starts to write back – after all, what harm could that possibly do?

My favourite I think is the UK one this time around. I do like the others but the UK one appeals to me more.

There are no right or wrong answers just opinions and I would love to know yours.

Amazon Links – both UK & USA

USA – Hardcover – https://www.amazon.com/Dear-Mrs-Bird-AJ-Pearce/dp/1501170066/ref=tmm_hrd_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1558623128&sr=8-1

UK – https://amzn.to/2EtR9lr

USA – Paperback – https://www.amazon.com/Dear-Mrs-Bird-AJ-Pearce/dp/1501170074/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1558623128&sr=8-1

Authors – Book a blog tour with us today and let us take care of the promotion. Visit our website for me information https://lovebooksgrouptours.wordpress.com/for-authors/

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).


14 comments

  1. More often than not I tend to love UK covers more, but in this case I actually love the USA hardback – I’m a sucker for anything yellow and vintage feel and this ticks all those boxes 💛

    Like

  2. Oh, this is really tricky. I like the UK and US hardcovers about equally. I think the UK cover suits the book better but I’d be more likely to pick up the US cover if I didn’t know anything about the book. The US paperback isn’t as good – the ladies in the background look too family saga-ish/generic WWI historical fiction for my liking, which doesn’t reflect the book at all.

    Like

  3. I like the US paperback! That one draws me in more and has my interest peaked over all the others. If I was in the store I would pick it up and look at that one, but probably not of the other 2.

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed this book – it was one of my 2018 favourites. As to the covers, I prefer the 3rd one, the US paperback cover. I’m one of those readers who usually prefers covers that look photographic rather than artful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.