One Day in December by Josie Silver @JosieSilver_ @PenguinUKBooks #WednesdayBookBlog #BookReview

Today guest reviewer Kimberly Livingston gives us her thoughts on One Day in December by Josie Silver.

One Day in December by Josie Silver

Looking for the perfect love story to snuggle up with on a cold afternoon? Get ready to escape into the heart-warming, feel-good bestseller that everyone’s falling in love with. 
___________________________

Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn’t exist. After all, life isn’t a scene from the movies, is it? But then, through a misted-up bus window one freezing day, she sees a man she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there’s a moment of pure magic…and then her bus drives away.

Laurie thinks she’ll never see the boy from the bus again. But at a party later that year, her best friend Sarah introduces her to the new love of her life. Who is, of course, the boy from the bus.

Determined to let him go, Laurie gets on with her life. But what if fate has other plans?

Following Laurie, Sarah and Jack through ten years of love, heartbreak and friendship, One Day in December is an uplifting and immensely moving love story for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Nicholas Sparks.

Book Review by Kimberly Livingston

Back in December, 2018, I was looking at my bookshelf for a good holiday read. I passed over a cowboy Christmas book and a historical Christmas book and then stopped. One Day in December by Josie Silver caught my eye. On the cover was a girl on a London bus and a man standing under a streetlight in the snow. I didn’t remember where I had even picked it up, but it looked like it might be the one.

Perfect holiday books aside, do you believe in the idea of knowing the one when you see them? Laurie James certainly didn’t until the day in December when her bus pulled up to a stop and there she saw him. Their eyes met, and she knew, and she thought she saw that he knew too. But then the bus pulled away, and for the next twelve months, she searched for bus boy with the help of her dearest friend, Sarah.

Author Ms. Silver had me at the endearment bus boy. I mean really, who doesn’t want to believe that there is the perfect person out there, waiting, knowing that if you could just actually meet everything would be happily ever after. I read with Disneyesque twinkles in my eyes for the first nineteen pages. Oh, how I knew Laurie would find her Prince Charming. She had to. I laughed, I cried, I was reminded of every romantic chic flick in the era between When Harry Met Sally and Love Actually.

One Day in December wasn’t all mistletoe and tinsel, however, and in between pages twenty and four hundred and four, life got pretty darn complicated for Laurie. There were times I didn’t even want her to find bus boy anymore. This book had me wanting to skip to the end to make sure it had its happily ever after (I didn’t, I wanted to, but I didn’t.) I will say that pages four hundred and five to four hundred and seventeen had tears pouring down my face, as every good holiday story should. One Day in December ended up being the right one after all.

Thank you to Penguin for our NetGalley gifted copy. Received in exchange for an honest review.

Amazon Link

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).


One thought on “One Day in December by Josie Silver @JosieSilver_ @PenguinUKBooks #WednesdayBookBlog #BookReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.