#Bookish First ever, Weekly Wrap Up #BookChat #BookNews #BookBlogger

💫 Welcome to Love Books Group Blog

Today I have my first ever Weekly Wrap Up for you. A new way to start the New Year with some different features on the blog for you to enjoy.

💫Wrap up for 30th Dec – 5th January

Firstly to recognise the turning of a New Year. Although I am not one for the hootinanning of the Hogmanay madness. I really do enjoy the freshness of a blank page for all the adventures ahead in 2019.

I decided to have more personal posts from a readers perspective this year rather than just the book reviews and author features. Putting my experience with my reading journey out there.

💫The first book of the year

I picked The Reader on the 6.27 by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent. I have had this on my TBR for about two years and I really put a lot of time and effort into choosing what would be the perfect start to my I year. Did it work out? Well, you can find out more in my review.

Back of the Book

The Reader on the 6.27 is ready to take you on a journey . . .

Guylain Vignolles lives on the edge of existence. Working at a book pulping factory in a job he hates, he has but one pleasure in life.

Sitting on the 6.27 train each day, Guylain recites aloud from pages he has saved from the jaws of his monstrous pulping machine. But it is when he discovers the diary of a lonely young woman, Julie – a woman who feels as lost in the world as he does – that his journey will truly begin.

Read my full review here: click here.

Amazon Link: click here.

💫Second book of the year

The Nowhere Emporium by Ross Mackenzie

Well, this was such a mind-blowing adventure, I have my review for this coming on the blog on Monday the 7th of January. So look out for that.

Back of the book

When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident. Before long, the ‘shop from nowhere’ — and its owner, Mr Silver — draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment.

Recruited as Mr Silver’s apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium’s vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms — rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined.

But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble.

Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever?

Scottish Children’s Book Award winner Ross MacKenzie unleashes a riot of imagination, colour and fantasy in this astonishing adventure, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Corneila Funke and Neil Gaiman.

Amazon link: click here.

💫 Currently Reading

Ginny Moon By Benjamin Ludwig

I am now half way through Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig and I all I will say is I can feel a place in my heart where Ginny is making a mark and I do believe a heart stay character she will be.

Back of the book

My name is Ginny Moon.

Ginny is fourteen years old and has autism. She likes the colour red, making lists and knowing exactly what time it is. She doesn’t like hugs, surprises or people telling lies.

After years in foster care, she has finally found her forever family. She has a new house, new parents and even a new name. But Ginny also has a Big Secret Plan of Escape.

Every day she wakes up at nine o’clock and eats nine grapes for breakfast. Because when she was nine years old something terrible happened. Something only Ginny knows. And she’s the only one who can put it right…

Amazon Link: click here.

So that is my first ever wrap up. I have some reviews going up later this week of my final reads of 2018.

I hope your bookish week is going well. Let me know the bookish highlight of your own week in the comments.

Happy reading.

Kelly x

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).


15 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.