The Dream Wife by Louise De Lange @paperclipgirl’s @orion_crime

Today on Love Books Group, we have an excerpt from The Dream Wife by Louise De Lange. This crime fiction debut was published earlier this year by Orion. 

♥ Blurb ♥

Annie is the dream wife.

Mother to two-year-old Johnny and wife to David, she is everything her husband expects her to be – supportive, respectful and mild – but what he expects of her isn’t who she truly is.

Annie is a prisoner in her home.

Her finances, her routine, her social life are all controlled by him. It’s the love for her boy that she lives for, and at night she dreams of a world where she is free.

But Annie is going to fight back.

And you won’t believe how she is going to do it . . .

Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, Linda Green, Laura Marshall, Amy Lloyd, Linda Green, and Claire Allan.


‘That ending . . . It had me questioning everything!’ Elle Croft, bestselling author of The Guilty Wife
‘A startling and clever twist‘ Cara Hunter, bestselling author of In the Dark
‘Could-never-have-predicted-that-ending‘ Good Housekeeping
‘Thriller-writing at its best‘ Daily Mail

♥ Excerpt ♥
I’m not surprised by how heavy the gun feels in my hand.I’m not surprised that out of nowhere I know how to unclip the safety, pull back the firing pin and gently squeeze the trigger, both hands cradling the gun for support. I aim and get a direct hit, square in the forehead. I’m not surprised about that either. I’m not surprised about the mess that appears against the wall, skull splintering open, and the chaos of blood and brain scattering across the room, stray drops freckling my face. I am surprised about my lack of caution, my lack of hesitation. Maybe I thought something would hold me back; I might think twice or have doubts about what I was doing. What I knew would happen. But no, I don’t even flinch. Not even when I can taste the steel tang in my mouth and a piece of something biological hits my shoe. I have been lied to; the people I love have been hidden from me. My patience has run out and I am angry. I am really fucking angry. Killing someone gets easier once you have done it before. And I know I am right to go ahead. If someone threatens the only thing you truly love, the thing you are connected to with every fibre and sinew of your being , tries to take that away from you, what would you do? Well, the decision is easy. This is easy. After all, this isn’t real, is it.

If you enjoyed the blog please leave a like and a comment. We would love it if you could share it on Twitter & Facebook.  It really helps us to grow.  Thanks so very much.

You can also connect with us on social media:-
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook 

Twitter Header - LBG Logo

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).
Thanks to the publisher for my free copy of the book, given in exchange for participation in the book blog tour and for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.