#AuthorTalk #International #Giveaway MORTE POINT by Robert Parker @robparkerauthor @Endeavour_Media #BookTalk #BookLove

So excited to be on the Robert Parker, book blog tour for Morte Point. The highly anticipated sequel to The Wanted Man. Reviews for both books will be live on the blog very soon. Today, Robert pops in for a wee natter and I have one copy to giveaway to a lovely reader.

Morte Point: (Ben Bracken Book 2)

51xIJHdwr2L

  • Crime
  • Mystery
  • Adventure
  • Fiction

| Synopsis |

Morte Point is a wonderful spot for a holiday. Only that’s not why Ben Bracken is here.

He’s here because in this sleepy part of England, events are now unfolding that could cause death and mayhem, and not just for the unfortunates in the plane that has just crashed into the sea off the North Devon coast.

Sent to locate the source of the problem, ex-soldier and patriot Ben finds himself both hunter and hunted. But who is after him, and why do they want to capture him so desperately?

It’s only when, on the edge of physical and mental exhaustion, he meets a young Kosovan microbiologist, that he begins to understand the scale of the plot he has been drawn into, and the weight of responsibility that the authorities have placed on his shoulders. So it’s probably just as well they don’t know about his slightly shady past.

But then, as Ben is rapidly finding out, those in authority aren’t always what they seem, either.

Morte Point is an original, non-stop action tale with twists and turns that will keep you enthralled from start to finish, and a memorable lead character who is far from the typical action hero. Fans of Lee Child and Andy McNab will be hooked!

‘Cool hero – check. Cinematic action – check. Parker’s got it all covered.’ – Peter Beck, bestselling author of Damnation
Monte Point is top drawer entertainment; the writing’s as punchy and precise as a prize fighter in the ring, with a weaving plot and an ending to die for. Expect violence and testosterone but laced with self-depreciating black humour; awesome.

Gary Donnelly, author of Blood will be Born

|Interview|

Robert Parker

Robert Parker is a married father of three, who lives in a village near Manchester, UK. The author of the Ben Bracken books A Wanted Man and Morte Point, and the standalone post-Brexit country-noir Crook’s Hollow, he enjoys a rural life on an old pig farm (now minus pigs), writing horrible things between school runs.

He writes full time, as well as organising and attending various author events across the UK – while boxing regularly for charity. Passionate about inspiring a love of the written word in young people, he spends a lot of time in schools across the North West, encouraging literacy, story-telling, creative-writing and how good old fashioned hard work tends to help good things happen.

  • Where did the inspiration come from for your current book?

The more I speak with fellow authors, the more I realise how different everyone’s processes are. This one, quite literally, was borne from a single scene, which happens later in the book – so I won’t give a great deal away for spoiler protection purposes. I’d just finished the first Ben Bracken book, A Wanted Man, and wanted to put him in a really difficult position, with an unenviable and nigh-on impossible decision to make. If you’ve read the book, you’ll probably know what I’m talking about. So it was more a case of backwards engineering the story to reach this fork in the road for the protagonist. The rest of the inspiration came from the wild, magnificent setting in which I set the story.

  • Do you have a special ritual that you do when you finish writing a book?

Nothing special I’m afraid, as I’m already thinking of the next one and when I can start it. I’ll probably have a pint of Guinness or a bottle of wine with my wife, clink a glass together then knuckle down again.

  • What has been your favourite read of 2018, so far?

A supreme toughie this one, so I’m going to have to go with three then throw a dart at it and see where it lands. The Puppet Show my Mike Craven was stunning, and as a northern bloke myself, I loved the setting and characterisation – but from a pure crime novel stand-point, it ticked every box. Then there’s Michael Rutger’s The Anomoly, which had the X-Files nerd in me by the throat, with a scope and payoff I was blown away by. And then there’s one that is hanging over from 2017, which I read late last year but was published this year, so does that count? Either way, it’s Dark Pines by Will Dean. It was so unique in terms of setting and protagonist, and so fresh in its delivery. I loved that to bits. Forget the darts, you’re going to have to pick for me.

Image result for Michael Rutger The Anomaly

  • Could you, please share with us a photograph that tells a story?

I hope a little montage is ok! I fight regularly for charity, raising money for Cancer Research UK. I started doing this after I lost my aunt suddenly to cancer in the summer of 2016, and wanted to get involved to do what I could to help try to beat it. UWCB, who I fight with, have now raised over £13 million for Cancer Research, which is mind-blowing and I’m really proud to be a part of it. These pictures are from July just gone, but I’m fighting again in November, which will be my 5th bout. There’s life in this old dog yet.

AAA.png

  • If you could pick three books that have influenced your life, what would they be and why?

Jaws by Peter Benchley. At my local village carnival when I was 12, mum and dad have given me a solitary quid to buy some pick n mix. Next to the sweet stall was a second-hand bookstall, so I split the pound and grabbed Jaws (along with Clancy’s Clear And Present Danger), having seen the film. That night, like a true maverick-loose-cannon, I ate pick n mix and read grown-up fiction under my duvet by torchlight. I couldn’t believe fiction could be so powerful, visceral and gripping. It changed everything for me.

Image result for Jaws by Peter Benchley.

The Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway. There’s just such a beauty in its simplicity and message that has always resonated with me. There’s a true power to the piece that is universal and magic, and when I read it in my youth I was enthralled – and still am.

Image result for The Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway.

The Spire by William Golding. I first read this while doing A-level English, and my then teacher was a very inspirational figure who taught me how to look into meaning and subtext. When the penny dropped, The Spire suddenly unfolded for me in such a glorious way. This was a really key period in my developing understanding of literature.

Image result for the spire by william golding

  • If your book had its own theme song, what would it be?

I listen to music a lot while writing, and it’s usually movie themes – they inspire imagery and keep me chugging along, and they usually never fit the genre I’m writing in! Thematically though, with the question of tough decisions, and fitting with the energy and rhythm of the story, I’m gonna go with Judas Be My Guide by Iron Maiden. Those opening bars, that wailing, never-say-die guitar, good grief, my ears are in heaven.

  • If your book was made into a movie who would you like to play the main characters?

I’m gonna play this carefully. Timothy Dalton circa 1980/Flash Gordon minus the tache.

  • Do you have any questions for your readers?

What would you like to see Ben Bracken do next, and where?

  • Lastly, if you could say something to your reader before they start your book what would it be?

I hope you enjoy reading this because I really loved writing it – and thank you for picking it up in the first place!

Thank you so much, Robert, for being on the blog today. 

Why not connect with Robert today?

Robert Parker’s links:

Website: https://robertparkerauthor.com/

Twitter: www.twitter.com/robparkerauthor

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robertparkerauthor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/robertparkerauthor/

 

| Giveaway |

Copy of Love Books Group Kindle Deals

I have one copy of Morte Point to giveaway, click here to enter. Open Internationally, ends 10.09.2018 at midnight.

| Order Links |

 

 

|Publisher Info|

pcgihKm7_400x400

Endeavour links:

Website: www.endeavourmedia.co.uk

Twitter: www.twitter.com/endeavour_media

Facebook: www.facebook.com/EndeavourMedia1

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/endeavour_media/

Check out these other tour stops

Morte Point Blog Tour NEW.jpg

If you enjoyed the blog please leave a like and a comment. We would love it if you could share it on Twitter & Facebook.  It really helps us to grow.  Thanks so very much.

You can also connect with us on social media:-
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook 

Disclaimer:

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in
a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.