#BookReview The Chosen Ones by Howard Linskey @HowardLinskey @Penguinrandom

Today on Love Books Group Blog, I am delighted to host a review for Howard Linskey’s latest novel The Chosen Ones.

  • Crime Fiction
  • Thriller
  • Noir
  • Private Investigators


Eva Dunbar wakes in a large metal box.

She has no idea who has taken her.

She has no way out.


She isn’t the first young woman to disappear.

And with no leads Detective Ian Bradshaw has precious little time.

When at last a body is found, the police hope the tragic discovery might at least provide a clue that will help them finally find the kidnapper.

But then they identify the body – and realise the case is more twisted than they ever imagined.

| Review |

This was my first adventure with Howard Linskey but it won’t be my last. With an intriguing plot and excellent writing, I was hooked. Now normally I wouldn’t start a series on the third book but it did not make a difference it can be read perfectly as a stand-alone too.

The cover is brilliant, it’s engaging, modern and it gives the reader just a little hint of what is to come from the book.

I really loved the diversity of the three key main characters. They all have such distinct strong personalities and it shouldn’t really work but it does, perfectly.  Detective Ian Bradshaw works tirelessly to try and solve cases with help of Private Investigators Tom Carney and Helen Norton.

I thoroughly enjoyed the plot and it kept me hooked and up way past my bedtime.  But I had to find out what happened.  The book is extremely well paced and we are fed the clues throughout with little side stories threaded amongst the main storyline.  I was fully satisfied as I closed the book and I picked up my phone to order the first two books on Amazon.

Howard Linskey’s is a gifted storyteller with a knack for weaving a criminally delightful plot!

Four Stars

By Kelly for Love Books Group

| Author |

Howard Linskey


‘The Chosen Ones’ is the fourth book in a north-east, crime fiction series written by Howard Linskey for Penguin Random House, featuring journalists Tom Carney & Helen Norton with police detective Ian Bradshaw. The other titles in this series are ‘The Search’ ‘No Name Lane’ and ‘Behind Dead Eyes’. He is also the author of ‘Hunting the Hangman’ a historical thriller about the assassination of Nazi General Reinhard Heydrich in Prague during WW2.

His David Blake trilogy ‘The Drop’, ‘The Damage’ & ‘The Dead’ have been optioned for TV by Harry Potter producer, David Barron. They are published in the UK by No Exit Press, in Germany by Droemer Knaur and in the US by Harper Collins. The Times newspaper voted ‘The Drop’ one of its Top Five Thrillers of the Year and ‘The Damage’ one of its Top Summer Reads. Both books broke into the top five Amazon Kindle chart.

‘The Search’ was featured on CBS Reality true crime TV series ‘Written In Blood’ . https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oRFJ0txCYvQ

Originally from Ferryhill in County Durham, he now lives in Herts with his wife Alison and daughter Erin

Howard’s web site is http://www.howardlinskey.co.uk


| Buy Link |

If you enjoyed the blog please leave a like and a comment. We would love it if you could share it on Twitter & Facebook.  It really helps us to grow.  Thanks so very much.

You can also connect with us on social media:-

L B G FB Cover (1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.