#BookReview |The Big Little Festival| @KellieHailes |@HQDigitalUK | #Fiction #Romance #WomensFiction|

51NNstONYSL._SY346_

The Big Little Festival by Kellie Hailes

  • Family Life
  • Women’s Fiction
  • Romance
  • Fiction

| Synopsis |

Love happens when you least expect it…

Jodi is panicking. It’s only weeks until her little village in Devon holds its first ever festival and everything is falling apart.

Desperate to avoid disaster, she brings in notorious party planner Christian to save the day. Although she wasn’t prepared for just how gorgeous he wuold be!

Men are off the cards for Jody and surely Christian is the last man she would ever date? But with tensions rising – along with the bunting and homemade scones – she’s about to find out…

Perfect for fans of Caroline RobertsCathy Bramley and Heidi Swain.

| Review |

I was sent this book by Love Books Group when I asked them to pick me something light and fluffy as I was going through a bit of a bad patch, and needed escapism.  This was a perfect choice, from the lovely bright daffodil yellow front cover to its happy feel-good description on the back cover. 
I understand this is the second book in the Rabbits Leap series, but it is also a standalone book and has made me want to read both the first one and look out for the next in the series.  Kellie has a light easy way of writing that makes you feel she is talking to you and just telling you a story about some friends of hers.  The story is about Jody, who is a prickly single parent to twin 9-year-old boys Jordan and Tyler, whose brother runs the local pub The Bullion, best friend Mel runs the local Cosy Coffee Shop of Promises and they all live a happy existence in their little village, but in Jody’s life there are no men allowed, her boys are her number one priority and her heart has been closed off to love.   
Jody has big ideas about putting on a festival to raise money to rebuild the swimming pool for everyone to enjoy.  Enter the Party Planner Christian, who she has hired from London out of her own money to rebuild the vandalised swimming pool to pay back for a wrong she once committed and she sees this project as her penance to the villagers.   However, the fact that he is so handsome and charming and eager to please her, is so good and easy with her twin boys, who seem to like him too, seems to rattle her somewhat and she makes it clear she is not looking for romance or a father figure for her sons.  Needless to say, Christian has a reason of his own for running from London to a country village, and his backstory is slowly unfolded into the story to enrich it further.
The book is full of old fashioned community spirit, with the 2 Mrs H’s being head of the committee and not likely to budge easily in their fixed ideas, friendship because all of the villagers know and look out for each other and have supported her in being a single parent, humour in the way things just go wrong sometimes, particularly with 2 young boys about, and of course a sprinkling of love too scattered across the book to make a delightful light-hearted romance.  As soon as they meet the sparks start to fly between Jody and Christian, with both denying they like each other (although the whole village, including her sons are trying to matchmake for them) and Kellie writes some lovely flirtatious episodes in the book which made me smile and gave me a lovely warm feeling and made you want a fairytale ending.  Needless to say, they both have baggage and this is cleverly explored over the weeks leading up to the festival, so everything in the book feels like a gently simmering summer romance.  The conclusion is a triumph and with both of them having poured their hearts out to the other, we are treated to a Big Little Festival which any village would be proud of and which I loved.
Review by Linda Tilling on behalf of Love Books Group.

| Order Link |

|Publisher Info|

FqlBI492_400x400

HQ Young Adult

Twitter: Twitter.com/HQDigitalUK

If you enjoyed the blog please leave a like and a comment. We would love it if you could share it on Twitter & Facebook.  It really helps us to grow.  Thanks so very much.

You can also connect with us on social media:-
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook 

 

cropped-copy-of-copy-of-copy-of-copy-of-book-bloggerswanted-2.png

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s