#BookReview | Too Close to Breathe by Olivia Kiernan |@LivKiernan | @riverrunbooks | #RandomThingsTours

51QrmSl4ToL

Too Close to Breathe by Olivia Kiernan

  • Thriller
  • Crime Fiction
  • Police Procedural

|Synopsis|

FIND THE KILLER WHO LIKES TO PLAY DEAD
A bold, brilliant new crime thriller – perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey and Gillian Flynn

TOO SOON TO SEE

Polished. Professional. Perfect. Dead. Respected scientist Dr Eleanor Costello is found hanged in her immaculate home: the scene the very picture of a suicide.

TOO LATE TO HIDE

DCS Frankie Sheehan is handed the case, and almost immediately spots foul play. Sheehan, a trained profiler, is seeking a murderer with a talent for death.

TOO CLOSE TO BREATHE

As Frankie strives to paint a picture of the killer, and their victim, she starts to sense they are part of a larger, darker canvas, on which the lines between the two blur.

|Review|

I was really rather excited about Too Close to Breathe. There had been quite a lot of hype on social media about the book. Set in Dublin we meet Detective Chief Superintendent Frankie Sheehan.  Who arrives at a suspected suicide but it turns out to be a murder. There in turn, starts the whodunnit dilemma and the story really begins.  I have to be honest that I struggled with the book, I knew it was a debut and whilst reading it I felt like I missed important information about Frankie. So I reread the first few chapters. But no, it is the style of the writing and threaded between the main plot we slowly learn Frankie’s history in dribs and drabs. Which didn’t really work for me as a reader.  I felt frustrated from it and it took my attention away from the story.

This is not a fast-paced thriller it is steadily paced and that works in the book’s favour. I don’t mind that in a book, it can be quite refreshing and it gives you time to digest and work it all out as you read.

If you love crime fiction then this is a new debut that is most definitely worth reading. The first in a new series, Detective Chief Superintendent Frankie Sheehan is someone worth investing your time in and although at times I was frustrated by the writing style I would read the next instalment by Olivia Kiernan.

Too Close to Breathe is a book that makes you rethink everything. Clever, unique and an author to keep an eye on.

| Order Link|

Too-Close-To-Breathe-Blog-Tour-Poster-1024x1024

Thank you to River Run Books and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to be on the tour.

If you enjoyed the blog please leave a like and a comment. We would love it if you could share it on Twitter & Facebook.  It really helps us to grow.  Thanks so very much.

You can also connect with us on social media:-
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook 

 

cropped-copy-of-copy-of-copy-of-copy-of-book-bloggerswanted-2.png

Advertisements

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.