Stand By Me By S.D Robertson @AvonBooksUK #Review

Stand By Me by S.D Robertson is the topic of discussion today. I have my review below.  I received a paperback copy for review from Avon Books.

  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Avon (11 Jan. 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0008223459
  • ISBN-13: 978-0008223458

IMG_3981

Synopsis

They’ll always have each other…won’t they?

Lisa and Elliot have been best friends ever since the day they met as children. Popular, bright and sporty, Lisa was Elliot’s biggest supporter when the school bullies made his life a misery, and for that, he will always be grateful.

Twenty years later, life has pulled the pair apart and Lisa is struggling. Her marriage is floundering, her teenage kids are being secretive, and she’s so tired she can’t think straight. So when Elliot knocks on the door, looking much better than she remembers, she can’t help but be delighted to see her old friend again.

With Elliot back in their lives, Lisa’s family problems begin to improve – he’s like the fairy godmother she never had. As their bond deepens, she realises how much she’s missed him, and prays that this is one friendship that will last a lifetime. But sometimes, life has other ideas…

A heartwarming story perfect for fans of Keith Stewart and Jojo Moyes, that will leave you with a tear in your eye but hope in your heart.

Review

When Lisa rescues a bullied Elliot from a bush back in the day, a strong friendship is born. The book flip-flops from present day to the past and slowly we learn the depth of the bond between the two. Elliot moved abroad and at some point, they lost touch.

Lisa’s family is in turmoil each battling with their own troubles and tribulations. Suddenly Elliot is back and he seems keen on keeping close and helping them resolve their battles.

It took me a while to really get into the book. On reflection, I feel that maybe that’s more to do with the amount of crime fiction I have been reading and changing pace was a difficulty for me.  Although I really enjoy the flip-flopping from past to present day it really gives you an insight into Lisa and Elliott’s journey.  I liked them both and I cared what happened. I thought the fact they had lost touch was a little strange. S.D Roberston really likes to play around with the what if’s and the afterlife. It makes for an enjoyable heart wrenching read at times. But it does make you reflect a lot which I also enjoy.

I recommend taking a day,  getting comfy with a hot cuppa and your favourite biccy and settling down with Stand By Me and get to know Lisa and Elliot.

Ps. You will need your kleenex handy.

Buy Links

standbyme banner

If you enjoyed the blog please leave a like and a comment. We would love it if you could share it on Twitter & Facebook.  It really helps us to grow.  Thanks so very much.

You can also connect with us on social media:-
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook 

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s