It’s Always the Husband By Michele Campbell @HQstories #AuthorSpotlight

Today on Love Books Group we are on the blog tour for the eagerly anticipated It’s Always the Husband. A debut novel Michele Campbell Published By HQ Stories. Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: HQ (11 Jan. 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0008271127
  • ISBN-13: 978-0008271121

IMG_3974.JPG

Synopsis 

It’s Always the Husband…unless it’s the best friend.

Kate, Aubrey and Jenny are inseparable at college – friends who promised they’d always be there for each other.

But twenty years later, their friendship is about to take a deadly turn.

Kate married the gorgeous party boy, Aubrey married up, and Jenny married the boy next door, but when one of the friends dies in shocking circumstances, will everyone assume that it’s always the husband? Or could it be the best friend?

IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND is the gripping debut which will keep you guessing until the very last page.

We Heart Our Frenemies, or We Kill Them, or Both

–By Michele Campbell

“The most delicious (and dangerous) drama stems from the bonds of female friendship.”  I must admit, I didn’t write that line — it comes from a review of my new book that appeared in Redbook Magazine – but I love it.  Some of the most compelling books I’ve read lately have been about intense female friendships gone very, very wrong.  In a Dark, Dark Wood. Big Little Lies.  The dynamics of the friendships in those fabulous reads are as or more gripping than the murder mysteries at the heart of the story. So, how does one write such a friendship – a “frenemy” relationship in which the women involved simultaneously love and hate one another passionately – and make it feel authentic enough to lead, believably, to murder?

Step one involves finding a proper setting.  In what context might women who really shouldn’t be friends, become friends?  The answer for me was to look back to my university days, when I was on my own for the first time, away from home, insecure, and in a pressure-cooker environment. The women I met seemed smarter than me, prettier, wealthier.  I wanted to know them, and at the same time I felt intimidated by them.  It was a moment in my life when I felt vulnerable, but also ready to throw myself into new relationships.  This, I realized, was an ideal setting for three fictional young women to meet and form an intense bond, despite being quite obviously wrong for one another.

And wrong they were, from the start.  Next, I had to create disparate but believable characters.  Kate is wealthy, privileged, blonde and gorgeous, but with a wild side powerful enough to drag down everyone around her. Aubrey comes from a poor family and is a misfit, very out of her element at this prestigious, sophisticated college.  She would follow Kate anywhere — to parties, to nightclubs, perhaps even to her death.  Jenny is the practical one, the striver, who’d rather study and get ahead than party. She wants to save her roommates from themselves, but risks getting pulled down with them.  These three extremely different young women meet in a context that allows them to become fast friends, when, really, they ought to run screaming in the opposite direction.

With the characters in place, I had to give them something compelling to fight over.  Making the conflict be over a man seemed a bit clichéd.  Instead, I started from that point, but had the proverbial love triangle quickly devolve into a tragedy that left the three frenemies with a terrible secret to keep.  If anybody talked, all three might go to prison, and these are women who don’t trust one another on the best of days.  

Finally, I added in the passage of twenty years.  The narrative skips ahead to a moment when the women reunite, having kept their terrible secret for two long decades. But the cracks in their friendship inevitably reappear.  They’re older but none the wiser, with families and careers to protect, and much more at stake if their secret comes out.  When one of them turns up dead, the dynamics of the friendship make the two other roommates obvious suspects. Yet, readers know that they also, through it all, loved one another.  Did love triumph over hate in this friendship?  Where does the truth lie?  Exploring those questions is what makes the frenemy relationship so compelling to write about.

Buy Link

Blog tour

If you enjoyed the blog please leave a like and a comment. We would love it if you could share it on Twitter & Facebook.  It really helps us to grow.  Thanks so very much.

You can also connect with us on social media:-
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.